Fifteen years

Fifteen years ago today, my wife asked me out. That we’re still together is a fact which continues to astound me.

At the age of 17, I was beginning to despair of ever finding someone to love. I’d had plenty of crushes on other girls, but the feeling was never mutual. I was friends with plenty of them, but that’s probably because I was the safe option – they knew I’d never try anything on, so they were comfortable around me. I sat next to a girl on the bus to college almost every day, and we used to talk most of the way there. I’ve no idea whether she even knew I liked her, because I simply didn’t have the courage to say anything.

So I’m incredibly glad that Mel told me how she felt, because if it was up to me, I might never have told her the same. I’d probably still be wondering whether she was interested fifteen years on. Again, we were friends before we started going out, and I was really wary of saying anything lest it affect our friendship. When she popped the question at the bus stop just up the road from my house, I was so taken aback that I mumbled a few words and walked off. It wasn’t until I phoned her later on that I said I’d love to spend some more time with her.

And fifteen years later, here we are. Happily married for almost eight of those years, with four as parents of a wonderfully caring, handsome and bright little boy. Sure, it’s sometimes been for poorer rather than richer, and recently in sickness rather than in health, but really I couldn’t be happier that I’ve been lucky enough to spend my entire adult life with the woman I love.

4 comments

  1. Ahh, do I ever know those feelings you describe! I’m exactly the same way.

    Happy anniversary to you both.

  2. I’m not oft a sappy guy but that was beautiful. Perhaps I could connect because of my awkwardness towards girls at a young age. Perhaps because I have a wife of 8 years and a lil girl for 2 of those years. I still wonder why she sticks with me considering all the smart remarks I give her daily. She’s pretty patient… unlike my daughter.


Leave a Reply

