Virus warning

Just thought I should let you know about a virus which seems to be doing the rounds. I’ve no idea how my PC got infected (I certainly don’t recall visiting any potentially dodgy webpages), but basically it’s a piece of rather sophisticated malware which pretends your computer is infected with a very serious virus, launching pop-up windows and error messages all over the place and preventing many programs from running properly. It claims you need to download a program called AntiVir Solution Pro to fix it, but obviously you should refrain from doing so.

Instead, you need to restart your computer in ‘Safe Mode With Networking’ (press F8 after restarting), then go into your internet browser, select ‘Internet Options’ or its equivalent. You then need to change your network settings, going into LAN settings and unticking the box which says to use a proxy server.

Refresh the webpage and you should be able to access the internet again. Then you apparently need to install a program called  Malwarebytes’ Anti-Malware (MBAM for short), follow the instructions, run a quick scan and the problem should be fixed.

At least that’s the theory. While this did indeed rectify the issue for 48 hours, AntiVir returned this evening. I followed the same steps and it’s gone again – but for how long? I must admit my antivirus software isn’t up to date (I’m with Virgin Broadband and my previous antivirus software came from BT, my last ISP) but I’m using Google Chrome as my browser which is reputedly much more secure than Internet Explorer. I’ve not been on any webpages bar the ones I usually visit, either.

If anyone has any advice on a decent antivirus/spyware/malware program I could download – preferably a free one if possible – I’d certainly appreciate it. In the meantime, given my experience, I’m now slightly reluctant to recommend MBAM, even though it has removed the problem twice. I’m just a little wary of it coming back with a vengeance.

5 comments

  1. Avast! anti-virus has never let me down, and Spybot Search and Destroy has also never let me down. They’re both completely free, updated regularly and have kept my PC virus-free for years. Unless there are secret viruses on here I don’t know about.

    You can get them both from Download.com, just so you know it’s not another dodgy site.

  2. I use AVG anti-virus, Spybot S&D, SpywareBlaster and Ad-Aware (all of them are free).

    I let them do their thing in the background, then once a week I update them and run their scans (except for SpywareBlaster, which just needs to be updated).

    I don’t know if it’s overkill, but it’s never let me down. There’s tempting fate.


Leave a Reply

