My favourite day

Saturdays are fast becoming my favourite day of the week.

It’s not just for the fact that it’s the start of the weekend, but recently we’ve been treating Saturdays as our lazy day. Today we’ve been busy doing not very much at all, save for a quick trip to our local Tesco to get some food and other household essentials in.

Given my current health problems, it’s been a bit of a godsend for me, not least because Mel’s kind enough to let me lie-in on Saturday mornings. I didn’t drag myself out of bed until half ten this morning, and I think a bit of extra sleep once a week is doing me the power of good.

Breakfast, dinner, tea, bit of shopping, football, lounging around and gaming: that’s about the sum total of my Saturday. But most importantly, it’s been quality time with my family. We’re getting pretty good at keeping James occupied for a full day just between the two of us, and that’s not always easy when you’ve got a curious and easily-bored four-year-old on your hands.

Tomorrow’s going to be a little busier, as it always is – early start, bit of cleaning and tidying, visiting the parents, maybe a trip to feed the ducks – but I’ll feel more ready for it (including all the running around after James when he darts off after another mallard or Canada goose) having had a break from doing stuff today.

Leave a Reply

