City of Angels

Latest One A Day ever? Well, here in LA it’s only 8.30 in the evening. I’m just about to meet some PRs and journos for dinner in the hotel lobby, having managed to get through the day’s events without TOO much trouble.

The two plane journeys (Manchester to Heathrow, and Heathrow to LAX) passed without incident, and indeed both landed ahead of schedule. Neither the Xanax or Rescue Remedy I took appeared to do much for my nerves, though I was noticeably less concerned when we were airborne on both flights. Evidently, it’s the take-off I really don’t like.

We were in Premium Economy on the Virgin Atlantic flight and were well catered to by our hosts, even if the air steward doing the announcements liked the sound of his own voice just a little too much – his interjections, while initially amusing, went on a bit too long at times. I watched two films during the journey: The Book of Eli, which was slow but pretty good with a predictable twist; and The Ghost, which was slow but pretty good with a predictable twist. I also watched Michael Moore doc Capitalism: A Love Story (not his best, but still very watchable) and for something a bit more light-hearted, a selection of episodes of various British comedies (The Inbetweeners, Peep Show etc.)

The room I’m staying in is pretty massive, with a huge HD telly (with the on-demand movie/catch-up TV content offering huge prices to match) and I’ve just had a very pleasant evening meal in the restaurant at the back of the hotel lobby. Tomorrow we’re off to Disneyland to watch the England game, which should certainly be an experience, but in the meantime I’m off to catch a bit of shut-eye so hopefully I’m not too bleary for tomorrow’s fairly early start.

One comment


Leave a Reply

