Ch-ch-changes

Life can change suddenly and in the most dramatic ways, but often the most significant changes happen almost imperceptibly: slowly, over a period of time, your priorities gradually adjust until you have a sudden moment of clarity and realise you’re sitting in a field watching Mister Maker read The Very Hungry Caterpillar. And enjoying it.

The Springwatch Day Out at Wythenshawe Park we took James to today was the scene of this revelation. It was quite a sobering incident in many ways as I realised how much my life had changed in the last five years. Yet by the same token, I can’t say that it bothered me too much. I was too busy having fun, watching my son shout out “BUT HE WAS STILL HUNGRY!” along with the other kids with a huge grin on my face.

I guess this kind of acceptance is all part of growing up. Many of us try to deny our real age for as long as we possibly can, until eventually we give up pretending and just get on with being older.

Of course, that’s not to say we can’t still act like a kid when the mood suits. Two hours in the company of a certain chubby little plumber holidaying on a tropical island paradise this evening proves as much.  And the geeky glee with which I greeted the news that Joss Whedon is in talks to direct a Half-Life movie starring Nathan Fillion shows the excitable teenager in me isn’t ready to disappear just yet.

One comment


Leave a Reply

