Market research

I sometimes think I too readily fall into line when discussing something in a group; either that, or I tend to quieten down and not rock the boat by positing a counter-opinion.

It’s nice to know that you still have the capacity to surprise yourself. I was part of a market research group this evening, discussing certain TV programmes. While most of the group were agreed that Genius of Britain was terrific, I found myself disagreeing with points others in the group were raising a surprising number of times. I also made everyone laugh when I described Location Location Location as “profoundly depressing”.

I’m not sure I’d have been quite so forthcoming in a different social situation, but because this was market research and I was essentially being paid for giving my opinion, I bloody well made sure my opinion was heard, damn it! Interestingly, we then had to give soundbites to camera, and it was noticeable how often the camera seemed to be pointed in my direction; especially given that I’m hardly the most photogenic person in the world.

So I think the researchers certainly got their money’s worth out of me this evening. Whether it was what they wanted to hear is another thing entirely.

Leave a Reply

