To blog, or not to blog

It’s been quite difficult for me to post here for the past few days. I have a rather sizeable work commission on the go at the moment, and finding time to blog hasn’t been easy. It’s probably the closest I’ve come to thinking about perhaps packing it in, even if only temporarily.

That said, it seems silly not to be able to take ten or fifteen minutes out to post something, even if it’s as nondescript and unworthy of your time as this. When I started doing this, I pledged to post one entry a day every single day. While it’s nice to try and write something interesting, informative, humorous or thought-provoking (or, ideally, all four) on a daily basis, even for the most prolific of writers that’s going to be a bit of a struggle, let alone someone with such an uneventful existence as I have.

Given that I rarely leave the house of a weekday, the number of subjects I can write about is pretty much limited to what occurs within the confines of these four walls. In which case, playing games, procrastinating, absent-mindedly surfing the internet and posting on Twitter. Hardly a life worth blogging about, right?

But then I can’t be that uninteresting, because I have plenty of followers on Twitter, and a not overwhelmingly depressing number of regular visitors to this here blog. So plugging away seems like an entirely viable option at this juncture, and I should probably stop using my workload as an excuse. After all, this fifteen minutes would likely have just been spent revisiting my extensive list of bookmarked websites, even though I’ve probably looked at half of them twice or more already today.

The sense of achievement at having written around 300 words of nothing about nothing is still greater than having spent that time doing nothing whatsoever. It’s a slightly Pyrrhic victory, perhaps, but a win all the same. Just about.

3 comments

  1. Oh, don’t worry about it. Remember the original intent of the whole thing – to write for yourself. To get into the discipline of writing every day. Who gives a toss if it’s no good, or not funny, or anything else? You only wrote it for yourself. If other people enjoy it, so much the better.

    And anyway, short, stream-of-consciousness posts can often be the beginning of a longer discussion in your comments.

    (cue no-one else commenting except me).

  2. I’m sorry, have you seen my blog?! Dear gods, if I let the fact I never do anything/have anything relevant to say stop me… well, you’d all probably breathe a sigh of relief, but that’s not my point. *grins*

    Half the time I’m fairly certain nobody’s reading a word I write anyway… may as well prattle on about something that’s on my mind/keeps me entertained/caught my eye.

    Somehow, something always seems to show up in the nick of time, even on days when nothing’s happened. Relax, let your mind wander, lie on the floor and stare at all the cracks you never noticed in the ceiling…

  3. What those two good souls above said πŸ™‚

    Good luck with your commission! It’ll no doubt be great as usual πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

