Big Vote Day

So today is the Big Important Day when everyone votes for people they probably don’t have the first idea about to represent them in parliament. I’ve voted, so I’ve officially ‘done my bit’ (Lib Dem, for the record) and now I’m going to sit down and watch the Election Night coverage.

Wait, what? Yes, I’m watching the Election Night coverage. And I’m watching it with some interest. Is there something wrong with me? Or is this me just growing up?

I’m starting to think it’s the latter. When you start caring about politics, that’s almost certainly a sign that you’re finally reaching some level of maturity. It’s taken 33 years for me to get there, but here I am, watching Election Night. Admittedly, it’s Channel 4’s alternative coverage, but then I am a sucker for a bit of Brooker. And David Mitchell, of course.

Still, I’m not entirely cured of my immaturity, as proven earlier today when I got rather excited about a website giving a very high score to a videogame I’m rather looking forward to. So perhaps I’m not quite a proper adult just yet.

Good.

2 comments

  1. I’m also rather shockingly excited for tonight’s Election TV. So much so that we’ve even got a nice M&S meal and a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc in to “celebrate”.

    I’m 27. 😦

  2. I’m excited and watching it too.

    Having said that I have very distant memories of being allowed to stay up very late to see some of the coverage of the 1992 election. I was 7!

    Watched every one since but obviously in increasing amounts 😉 1992: it was probably only 10 minutes and just made a weird impact on me, 1997 was 12amish, can’t remember with the next couple and this one as long as I can stay awake!


Leave a Reply

