One A Day Picks of the Week* 26th April – 3rd May

*Okay, you got me. That’s eight days.

And it’s eight days because I always, always do this on Bank Holidays. ‘This’ being forgetting it’s a Monday and thinking it’s a Sunday instead. And in this particular case, forgetting that I had a week’s worth of #oneaday posts to round up. But, dear readers, you showed me the error of my confused ways by voting with your index fingers and avoiding this here blog in your droves. I say thanks without even a hint of bitterness in my voice. Any you might hear is down to my acid reflux and nothing more. Promise.

Rambling intro dealt with, it’s onto the good stuff – namely, other people’s writing. Hurrah! So without further ado, I present to you my first choice this week, which is Soraya’s post about #oneaday. Which should be essential reading for all those still doing this, and maybe some who aren’t. Not sure everyone will agree, but then isn’t all good writing about provoking debate? Yes it is. Wait…no. No it isn’t. See?

After that splendid intro, how about moving onto Adam Englebright’s piece about having a problem with Amy Pond off of Doctor Who. It’s a piece I completely disagree with, actually – but then perhaps it’s that which makes it so interesting. Any Whoites should certainly give it the once-over.

Talking of Doctor Who, Pete Davison’s piece on Crystallised Memories is a beautiful piece about attaching significance to inanimate objects. As beautiful as that expert segue of mine, you might think.  I’m not sure the poster in question will agree, mind.

Mat Murray’s Sunday post makes it partly because he rather expertly echoes my feelings on the subject of football, which seems particularly appropriate given the churning sensation in my gut ahead of tomorrow’s crucial City-Spurs game.

Rhiarti’s review of Iron Man 2 is quite the happiest bit of film-related writing I’ve read in a long while and makes me want to see a film I previously had no particular interest in. More fool me, so it would appear. Andy Johnson’s review of the same film isn’t quite so jolly, but is also a fine read.

Meanwhile, I found Jennifer Allen’s tale of a night out curiously heartwarming. Perhaps it’s knowing what she’s been through lately that makes a post about letting her hair down a little such a smile-inducing piece of writing.

Daniel Lipscombe’s piece about not wanting to spoil games for himself is undoubtedly something many of us can identify with. As, in my case at least, is Ian Dransfield’s worry that he’s not evolved as a person since 2005.

My favourite post of the week, however, goes to Mike Grant’s concern about what The Sun thinks of its readers. Not only for realising something everyone else seemed to miss, but for my favourite simile of the week in the opening para.

Well done, fellow #oneadayers, for some marvellous posts in this most lengthy of weeks. And join me in six days’ time, where I’ll endeavour to actually remember what flipping day it is.

2 comments

  1. I very much enjoyed your segue, sir. 🙂

    That piece you linked to (thanks, by the way) was deeply, deeply personal. I’ve had some seriously bad stuff happening recently (a couple of people know what already, but I won’t go into it here) and that post was part of… I don’t know, “coping” with it, I guess.

    I’m glad it’s had nothing but positive responses so far, both from fellow bloggers and on Twitter too.

  2. Sorry to hear about the bad stuff, but I guess it’s good that you have an outlet as a way to cope with it. Today’s wonderfully-worded letter is already a shoo-in for next week’s round-up, by the way!


Leave a Reply

