A boy and his blob

Today I got to experience a similar sensation to a pregnant woman. No, not the feeling of having your stomach swell to five times its normal size, nor the really painful end bit, but the one where someone examines your insides via the medium of a soundwave-emitting device and a sizeable blob of some freezing cold gelatinous substance.

Yep, today I went for an ultrasound. Not to check if I had a little proto-Schilling inside me, but to check whether my current health woes are anything to do with any of my other internal organs.

Short answer: no. But then that was always going to be the case. I’ve always maintained that it’s some kind of stomach issue, with a tiny outside chance of bowel trouble, so the procedure was merely ruling out problems I never thought it would be anyway. I guess today was useful in the sense that the doctors can now focus their attentions elsewhere, but it did feel like a bit of a waste of time.

And that gel stuff really is bloody cold.

One comment


Leave a Reply

