One month on…

Well, it’s technically a full month’s worth of posts tomorrow, but being as I am a little short on inspiration this evening (and the waning viewing figures for my weekend posts hardly being the greatest motivator) I thought I’d advance my summary of my One A Day experience so far.

So to date this little blog has had 1218 views, with the most-popular day being Tuesday 19th January, when I posted about ‘The Top Five Games I’m Looking Forward To This Year (That You Might Not Be)’, with a whopping 107 views. I’ve no idea how that compares to other blogs on the network, so I don’t know whether I should be happy with those figures or a little disappointed, but then I didn’t start this blog because I wanted millions of people to read it.

So far, I’ve mostly enjoyed writing something every day. I’d like to put a little more thought and effort into my posts than I really get time to do – I think it’s always obvious when I’ve got a little more time on my hands, because the word count tends to increase, and the entries have a bit more of a point or a purpose. But I’m pleased that I’ve not missed a day, even if a few posts have been cutting it a little fine.

Over the coming months, I’m going to make a concerted effort to really find something worth talking about instead of frivolous entries about nothing. I’m going to attempt to write more in the morning, partly because I’m more likely to get traffic but also because leaving it to the last minute is rarely a good idea. I’m also going to try and change the look of the blog. I’ve paid for some hosting, I just need to sit down and work out how to redesign the site how I want it to look.

(To which end, if you’re a budding web designer who can offer advice or help in any way, I’m all ears.)

I’m also going to try and use some of the few press contacts I have to perhaps try to promote One A Day. It feels somehow important – a group of just under fifty people are all attempting to spend internet time doing something a little more worthwhile than idle surfing or arguing on forums, and that’s surely something to be celebrated. Right? Right.

So, to those who’ve read this li’l ol’ blog o’ mine: a sincere and heartfelt thanks. Hopefully you’ll stick around for month two.

Leave a Reply

