It begins…

So, thanks to the very accommodating (and hugely talented) Andy Kelly I’ve been allowed to join this One A Day group – a merry band of bloggers attempting to write one post every single day for an entire year. It’s a daunting task the members of this courageous cabal have set themselves, and most seem to be sticking to the task admirably.

Naturally, as ever, I’m late to the party – work commitments ensuring my time over the last couple of weeks has been at a premium – but I’m here now, and I’m going to do my damnedest to stick at this for the full 365-day duration.

For those who don’t know me, I’m a freelance videogames journalist by trade. I’ve written stuff for a variety of publications over the last four years or so, including – but not limited to – The Observer, The Daily Telegraph, NGamer, Games TM, Official Nintendo Magazine and 360. Given that I spend most of my time writing about games, I’m going to do my best to focus on other things on this blog, though if I’m short of ideas on any particular day, don’t be surprised if, say, I slap down a several-thousand-word missive on why I love Japanese rhythm-action masterpiece Osu! Tatakae! Ouendan so much.

I was going to finish this post with an explanation of the blog name I’ve chosen. But there are several reasons for my choice, and a post detailing them is definitely a possible contingency plan on any day I might otherwise be struggling for inspiration.

If you’re interested in following the daily scribblings of the One A Day members, be sure to hop onto Twitter and search for #oneaday (predictably enough). There’s loads of interesting stuff up there already, so if you’ve got a spare hour or three and fancy a bloody good read, then make yourself a brew, grab a couple of biscuits, and settle down in front of your PC. You never know, you might learn something. And joining? Speak to Andy at the link above. You’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

